How to amp a center ?

ATC & other manufacturers design parameters, technical queries etc
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:08 pm
Location: Northern Germany

How to amp a center ?

Postby Mariner » Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:18 am

Hi,
i have a C1C and a McIntosh MC502 to amp it.
The Mac has 50w/ch into 8 ohms, 75w/ch into 2.7 to 4 ohms. (150w mono into 8 ohms).
My preamp has two center outputs.

So is it better to connect it with the bridged amp to get 150W at the bridged center,
or should i use the biamp version with 50W, and amp mid and high seperate with low power ??
Any ideas welcome !
Thanks !!

Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: How to amp a center ?

Postby Alastair » Tue Nov 26, 2019 8:40 pm

Hello Rudy

No experience here but my simple answer is try both.

I like the headroom of power so if I had to pick and forget, I’d go the mono way to get 150w. But can’t say if that sounds better than the alternative you suggest.

Have a good time :-)

Alastair
Sys 1: ATC Classic SCM100ASL, C1C, SCM20SL, C6 / Krell Showcase 5 / Oppo 203 / Emotiva XMC-1
Gym: Meridian DSP5000C 96/24, D6000, 568.2MM, 500, HD621
Roon, Tidal, Dirac

Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:08 pm
Location: Northern Germany

Re: How to amp a center ?

Postby Mariner » Wed Nov 27, 2019 7:12 am

Thanks for your answer Alastair!
I hoped that there might be a technical explanation for the advantage of one of these solutions :)
Some time ago I thought I've read that it might be better to remove the original bridges (metal bars)and take cables for the bridge. But I can't remember in which way!
So any suggestions about connecting a center are welcome!

Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:08 pm
Location: Northern Germany

Re: How to amp a center ?

Postby Mariner » Wed Nov 27, 2019 7:13 am

Double post again! Sorry

Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:01 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Re: How to amp a center ?

Postby Brad Lunde » Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:05 pm

I'm in the "bridged" amp camp as well for your center; more power is better 99% of the time and dynamic range is a good deal greater than most anticipate. Especially dialogue!

Bridging an amp is not the same with every design. You really need to research how to set yours up correctly.

Brad
Brad Lunde
Lone Mountain Audio, part of TransAudio Group
ATC Importers USA

Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:08 pm
Location: Northern Germany

Re: How to amp a center ?

Postby Mariner » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:38 pm

Thanks for your answer Brad.
In my case the Mcintosh amp has one switch on the back to bring it in the "bridged" mode.
So there is only one kind (from my point of view) to "bridge" it.
So you and Alastair confirm what i thought ( more power ! ). Thanks for that !
My last post was a little unspecific, because i don´t make it clear that i now asked myself (and the forum)
is if there is a better way to "brigde" the speaker than the original massive metal bars.
Sorry !

Return to Technical area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest